Sunday, January 15, 2012


British compilation label Harmless has put together a collection of soulful sounds in celebration of the 40th anniversary of Philadelphia International Records. First batch is due next week, which sees the release of Philadelphia International: The Re-Edits, a double CD featuring edits by artists such as Todd Terje, Keep Schtum, Touchsoul, Henry Greenwood, Scratchandsniff and Deep&Disco...

The first CD features new versions of more uptempo Philly songs...
01. Harold Melvin & The Blue Notes - Satisfaction Guaranteed (Morning Star Edit)
02. Billy Paul - Only The Strong Survive (J*Ski Re-Edit)
03. The Trammps - Save A Place (J*Ski Re-Edit)
04. Jean Carn - Free Love (Victor Rosado Re-Edit)
05. People's Choice - Do It Anyway You Wanna (Keep Schtum Re-Edit)
06. Dexter Wansel - Life On Mars (DJ Milla Re-Edit)
07. MSFB - Mysteries Of The World (J*Ski Re-Edit)
08. McFadden & Whitehead - Ain't No Stopping Us Now (Noodleman)
09. The Jones Girls - Dance Turned Into Romance (DJ Friction Re-Edit)
10. Harold Melvin & The Blue Notes - Be For Real (Tim McAllister Re-Edit)
11. The O'Jays - Message In Our Music (Jimmy The Twin Re-Edit)

The second CD contains more mellow stuff...
01. Jean Carn - If You Wanna Go Back (Morning Star Re-Edit)
02. The O'Jays - Darlin' Darlin' Baby (Deep Disco Rework)
03. The Jones Girls - You're Gonna Make Me Love Somebody Else (Greenwood Edit)
04. Archie Bell & The Drells - Strategy (Touchsoul Re-Edit)
05. Billy Paul - Let The Dollar Circulate (Scratchandsniff Re-Edit)
06. Dee Dee Sharp Gamble - Easy Money (Todd Terje Re-Edit)
07. Jean Carn - Was That All It Was (Morning Star Re-Edit)
08. The Jones Girls - Nights Over Egypt (Womack & TOT Re-Edit)
09. Archie Bell & The Drells - Don't Let Love Get You Down (Ed Zone Re-Edit)
10. Harold Melvin & The Blue Notes - Wake Up Everybody (Apt One Re-Edit)

The compilation Philadelphia International: The Re-Edits will be followed by a four CD pack of edits and remixes by legendary Tom Moulton, out sometime this spring.